9th annual joint consultative meeting of the PSC of the African Union and the PSC of the European Union

The Peace and Security Council of the African Union (AU) and the Political and Security Committee of the European Union (EU) ambassadors held their 9th joint consultative meeting on 25 October 2016.

In the morning, ambassadors reviewed crisis situations and threats to peace and stability in Africa, namely, in the Democratic Republic of Congo, Central African Republic, Somalia, Sahel, South Sudan, Burundi and Guinea Bissau. Over lunch, they discussed how to enhance EU-AU cooperation on peace and security issues. The afternoon session focused on support to AU peace and security activities.

A joint communique was issued at the end of the meeting.

EU-African Union relations: joint communique of the AU Peace and Security Council and the EU Political and Security Committee

The meeting was preceded by an informal joint retreat, which provided a platform for an informal exchange on countering terrorism, radicalisation and violent extremism as well as on migration.

Co-chairs conclusions of the joint African Union PSCPeace and Security Council (AU PSC) / European Union Political and Security Committee (EU PSC) retreat

The meeting was co-chaired by Walter Stevens, Chair of the EU PSC, and Catherine Muigai Mwangi, Chair of the AU PSC. The meeting brought together the ambassadors of EU PSC and AU PSC Member States, African Union Commissioner for Peace and Security, Smail Chergui, the deputy Secretary General of the EU External Action Service, Jean-Christophe Belliard, the deputy Director General for International Cooperation and Development at the European Commission Klaus Rudischhauser as well as senior officials from the AU Commission, the European External Action Service, the European Commission and the Council of the EU Secretariat.

The AU PSC is comprised of ambassadors from 15 AU member states. Its composition is renewed every two years. Since March 2016, the AU PSC includes ambassadors from Algeria, Botswana, Burundi, Chad, Congo, Egypt, Kenya, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Togo, Uganda and Zambia.

Source: European Council