Final nominees for Public Protector top job

The Chairperson of the Ad Hoc Committee, established to facilitate the appointment of the new Public Protector, says 73 candidates were nominated for the top job.

Dr Makhosi Khoza, the Chairperson of the committee, said out of this list, seven other names that have done rounds in the various media platforms were declined after members of the public did not make formal written submissions.

Others were removed from the list after the committee was unable to get hold of the nominees, leaving 59 people on the pool of eligible for shortlisting.

“Seven candidates, including [Former President Nelson Mandela’s wife] Ms Graca Machel, [State prosecutor] Advocate Gerrie Nel and former Finance Minister Mr Nhlanhla Nene, are among those who declined their nominations.

“There were other verbal nominations, such as the former President Thabo Mbeki, former Deputy Chief Justice Moseneke and Advocate Dumisa Ntsebeza.

“These nominations were not formally sent to the Committee and they have been subsequently declined,” she said.

Those that have made final list include former Asset Forfeiture Unit head Willie Hofmeyr, High Court Judge Sirajudien Desai and Deputy Public Protector Kevin Malunga.

She said this when announcing the final list of candidates that will be considered for the shortlisting process ahead of interviews in August.

The Committee’s chairperson said the names and CVs of candidates can be accessed via Parliament’s website and social media platforms.

She said when members of the public click on a person’s name on the Parliament’s website, they will be redirected to the candidate’s CV.

Members of the public are encouraged to scrutinise these names and CVs and send their comments or objections to the committee.

Khoza said the Committee will soon send a questionnaire to nominees, and the information received from the questionnaire will assist in the processes of shortlisting and during the interviews.

Candidates are expected to return the questionnaire by Friday, 8 July 2016.

“The Committee is very impressed with the calibre of nominees and applicants received and says this is an indication that South Africans thoroughly applied their minds in putting forward their nominees.

“Once the comments and objections process is closed, the Committee will commence with the short-listing process, the details of which will be communicated in due time.

“Interviews are still scheduled to take place after the August 2106 Local Government Elections,” she said.

Khoza said members of the public are encouraged to scrutinise the list of nominees and CVs and send their comments or objections to, for the attention of Mr Vhonani Ramaano.

The full list will be published on

The deadline for comments or objections is Friday, 8 July 2016.

Source: Government Communication and information System