Parliament, The Presiding Officers of Parliament, led by the Speaker of the National Assembly, Ms Thandi Modise, and the Chairperson of the National Council of Provinces Chairperson, Mr Amos Masondo, wish all South Africans a happy and successful 2020.

2019 has been a busy year for Parliament. As expected in a constitutional democracy, every five years South Africans renew their social contracts by participating in the national and provincial general elections. This act ushered in the sixth democratic Parliament. This meant working around the clock to wrap up the work of the 5th Parliament and equally be ready to forge ahead with the responsibilities of the new term.

As such, Parliament intensified its constitutional function of executive oversight, law-making and facilitating public involvement. Working with the people of this country, Parliament played a leading role as a platform for robust debates on issues of public importance, made key strides in facilitating and producing transformative legislation and vigorously pursued oversight without fear, favour or prejudice.

Among the key critical milestones for the year ahead, 2020 will mark the 30th anniversary of Tata Madiba’s historic release from the Victor Verster Prison on 11 February 1990, after 27 years of imprisonment. Parliament looks forward to honouring the icon. The State of the Nation Address (SONA) is scheduled for 13 February 2020. The President will address both Houses of Parliament, the National Assembly and National Council of Provinces to a joint sitting and will highlight key policy priorities for the year.

Source: Parliament of the Republic of South Africa