IEC publishes addresses of voting stations

The Electoral Commission (IEC) has published the list of addresses of the 23 292 voting stations that will be used in the 2024 National and Provincial Elections (NPE2024).

Addressing a media briefing on Tuesday, IEC Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Sy Mamabolo said the route for mobile voting stations has also been published.

“The highest number of voting stations will be in Kwazulu-Natal (4 974), Eastern Cape (4 868) and Limpopo (3 216). All voting stations are now contracted, with lease agreements concluded with landlords or owners,’ Mamabolo said on Tuesday in Centurion.

A list of the voting stations can be found on the Electoral Commission’s website at

Over 95% percent of logistical supplies for Election Day are already at hand.

The IEC is in the process of distributing 1 873 tonnes of material between the different warehousing and storage facilities across the country.

Special votes

Applications for special votes, f
or the purposes of home visits and voting station visits, opened on 15 April 2024 and will close on 3 May 2024.

‘Home visits are intended for those voters who are unable to travel to voting stations, whilst special votes at voting stations are for everyone who is unable to be at the voting station on Election Day. Special voting will be conducted on the two days preceding Election Day, on 27 and 28 May 2024,’ the CEO said.

Special votes may be accessed using one of the following modalities:

Using our secured online application form found at

By SMSing your identity number to 32249 (R1.00 per SMS) for voting station visit only.

By visiting your local IEC office and submitting an Appendix 1B form for a voting station special vote.

By visiting your local IEC office and submitting an Appendix 1A form for a home visit special vote. Forms can also be hand-delivered, but someone else can deliver a form on behalf of a voter.

Special votes will also be administered at South Africa’s diplomat
ic missions abroad to service 58 000 registered voters.

‘These voters will be provided for at the diplomatic missions of the republic. The Electoral Commission invites South Africans, who are registered on the local segments of the voters’ roll but who may be temporarily absent from the country, to notify it of the intended absence and the mission where they intend to vote.

‘Such notifications must be lodged with the Chief Electoral Officer by 22 April 2024. As of today 9 100, such notifications have been approved. Special votes at the diplomatic missions will take place 10 days ahead of general voting in the country on 17 May or 18 May 2024 depending on the weekend configuration of the country,’ Mamabolo said.

Those travelling out of country and between countries must take note that the period to notify the Electoral Commission at which mission outside the country they will be voting closes on 22 April 2024.

Source: South African Government News Agency