IEC to begin printing election ballot papers

The Electoral Commission (IEC) has welcomed the Electoral Court ruling dismissing cases lodged by five political parties against the commission.

The five political parties – Operation Dudula, Arise South Africa, Cape Independence Party, Defenders of the People, and Independent South Africa National Civic Organisation – lodged cases against their exclusion from contesting in the upcoming elections.

South Africa will hold elections on 29 May 2024.

The court applications related to non-compliance with the requirements for candidate nomination.

In a consolidated decision on the five applications, the court on Friday made an identical order, dismissing all of them. The court said reasons for the orders would follow shortly.

The IEC said the decision by the Electoral Court has cleared the path for the commission to begin with printing the ballot papers for the 2024 National and Provincial Elections.

‘The Electoral Commission appreciates the hard work of the Electoral Court for bringing these matters to finali
ty. These applications had an immense implication for the production of the ballot papers for the forthcoming elections,’ the Commission said in a statement.

The Electoral Commission has reminded that applications for special votes opened on 15 April 2024 and will close on 3 May 2024.

The commission reiterated that sound electoral administration demands that voters cast ballots at the voting station of registration.

‘However, our framework allows for voters to vote at other voting stations where they are not registered if such voters notify the Commission. Notification for this purpose will close on 17 May 2024,’ the commission said.

Code of conduct

Meanwhile, the Gauteng Electoral Commission will on Tuesday host the signing of the Electoral Code of Conduct by political parties and independent candidates contesting the 2024 National and Provincial Elections.

A total of 52 political parties and independent candidates contesting the elections in Gauteng will publicly pledge to adhere to the Electoral Code
of Conduct.

The signing ceremony will be held at Emperors Palace in Kempton Park, Johannesburg.

Source: South African Government News Agency