Parliament, On 15 May 2019 the Chief Justice of the Republic of South Africa, Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng, handed over the list of designated Members of Parliament to Parliament for swearing in as public representatives. The Chief Justice further declared, as per his powers under the Constitution, the dates for the first sittings of the Houses of Parliament, the National Assembly and the National Council of Provinces.

In this regard, the National Assembly will hold its first sitting on 22 May 2019 and the National Council of Provinces on 23 May 2019.

Media wishing to cover these first sittings are invited to apply for accreditation by no later than 21 May 2019 at 12h00.

Media, who have Parliamentary media access permits, do not have to provide all the details below.

Details needed from media who do not have parliamentary media access permits

Full name, ID/passport number, name of media organisation, designation (writer or photographer, for example), email address, phone numbers (landline and cell phone).

Media wishing to broadcast from the Parliamentary precinct should also provide:

Make of vehicle(s), registration number(s), number(s) of vehicles, clearance certificates from service providers for temporary structures) they wish to erect, other equipment and time of arrival

Source: Parliament