Minister Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma signs MOU with Lesotho on decentralization and local government, 24 Aug

Minister Dlamini-Zuma to sign MOU with Lesotho on decentralization and local government

The Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (COGTA), Dr Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma will, on behalf of the South African Government, sign a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Kingdom of Lesotho on cooperation in the field of decentralization and local government.

The MoU to be signed by Minister Dlamini Zuma and the Minister for Local Government in the Kingdom of Lesotho, Mr. Moshe Leoma will expand cooperation in the areas of:

• fiscal decentralization,

• integrated development planning,

• development of local government and governance institutions and structures,

• human resource development, and exchange programmes by councils/municipalities.

The two Ministers will also oversee the signing of the technical MoU on disaster management that sets out a framework for a collaborative arrangement, which includes joint actions towards preventing and mitigating risks related to disasters. The MoU will be signed by the Acting Head of the National Disaster Management Centre in South Africa and the Head of the Disaster Management Authority of Lesotho.

Source: Government of South Africa