President Zuma arrives in India to attend the 8th BRICS Summit

President Jacob Zuma has this morning, 15 October 2016, arrived in Goa, in the Republic of India to attend the 8th BRICS Summit.

During the 8th BRICS Summit, which will be held under theme “Building Responsive, Inclusive and Collective Solutions”, leaders of the BRICS countries will consult on intra-BRICS Cooperation and on global issues such as international conflicts, the fight against terrorism, and reform of global system of governance, notably the democratisation of the United Nations and the Bretton Woods Institutions.

Leaders will also meet with the BRICS Business Council. The BRICS Business Council focuses on the areas of infrastructure, manufacturing, financial services, energy and the green economy, skills development, agribusiness and deregulation. The Council comprises of five members from each country and is further supported by Working Group Chairs, namely Dr Iqbal Surve, ICT; Mr Siyabonga Gama, Infrastructure; Ms Slauzy Mogami, Agri-Business; Mr Sunil Genesis, Deregulation; Mr Stavros Nicolau, Manufacturing; Mr Brian Dames, Energy, and Mr Bhabhalazi Bulunga for Skills Development as well as Dr Danisa Baloyi and Ms Khanyisile Kweyama as leaders of the Black Business Council and BUSA respectively.

President Jacob Zuma will also have an opportunity to meet with the South African Under 17 National Team (Amajimbos), which is taking part in the BRICS Under 17s Football Cup Tournament being played in Goa.

In addition to the issuing of the Goa Declaration and Action Plan, various Memoranda of Understanding will also be announced and signed, aimed at expanding the BRICS institution-building agenda and sectoral cooperation initiatives.

BRICS Leaders will also engage once again in an Outreach Summit, together with the Leaders of the Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC). The group comprises Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Thailand.

President Zuma is accompanied by the Minister of International Relations and Cooperation, Ms Maite Nkoana-Mashabane; Minister of Trade and Industry, Dr Rob Davies; Minister of Science and Technology, Ms Naledi Pandor; Minister of State Security, Mr David Mahlobo and Minister of Small Business Development, Ms Lindiwe Zulu.

Source: The Presidency Republic Of South Africa